Home > Gardening > New raised garden bed

New raised garden bed

September 15, 2009

I’m constructing a new raised bed for my strawberry patch. Its kind of crude, just a bunch of large sticks on top of each other in the shape of a 4ft x 5ft box with dirt in the middle. I’m adding some compost and top soil to the mix to make it a little more fertile I hope.

Wild Strawberries I have 3 different kinds of strawberries to transplant into it: ever-bearing, some ginormous variety, and wild. I dug up the wild ones at the edge of our property.

I’ll try to post some pictures if I get out there before dark.

As an aside… why on God’s green Earth do we move clocks backwards in the Fall? It makes no sense. I get home and can’t do diddly because its dark at 5 o’clock!

Categories: Gardening
  1. roundrockgarden
    September 15, 2009 at 8:26 am

    right? i’d rather go and work in the dark for a few hours if it’d save me some precious daylight at the end of the day!

    good luck with the berries!

  2. Hendo
    September 15, 2009 at 8:30 am

    Exactly. Make it dark in the morning rather than evening. You would be surprised how much there is to do after work even in the winter.

  1. September 15, 2009 at 11:10 pm
Comments are closed.
