Home > Politics, Rant > Peace in our time

Peace in our time

September 24, 2009

I did not watch Obama’s U.N. speech today, I don’t think I could stomach it really, but here is a comment from Rich Lowry that I hope everyone would consider.

“The yearning for peace is universal,” Obama said. Of course, so is the yearning for war, or it wouldn’t be endemic to human existence. Speeches like this are always going to be aspirational, but is it really too much to ask that U.S. presidents be a little more modulated, sociologically humble, and realistic?

Via the corner, here is the entire comment.

Is it really behind the comprehension of liberals that there may be some leaders of the world that, given the right opportunity, would start a war for personal/national gain. Don’t tell me that’s what Bush did, because it isn’t. I’m talking Hitler, Mussolini, Stalin type dictators – like Mahmoud Ahmadinejad or his Mullah puppet masters. Modern civilization is not immune to war. We ignore history and reality at our own peril.
Categories: Politics, Rant
