Home > Cooking, Family > Saturday mornings were made for doughnuts

Saturday mornings were made for doughnuts

November 2, 2009

On Saturday mornings I sometimes like to make a special treat for the kids. They really like biscuit doughnuts, which are made with a can of biscuits, hot grease and glazing (or cinnamon). Even I can’t mess those up. But we were out of biscuits.

So I got online and found a doughnut recipe at SecretDonutRecipe.com that looked easy and quick. (Note to self: This should be an early warning sign.)

I mixed up all the ingredients according to the website and the dough was way too sticky and runny. I had to add at least an additional cup of floor before the dough was kneed-able. I think instead of oil (I used Canola oil), shortening might have worked better. I got the dough ready and let the nuts sit for a while to rise. The recipe said 10 minutes, but mine weren’t rising (maybe the yeast I used?). I let them go another 10 minutes and very little if any rising occurred.

My grease was ready so I cooked a few then glazed a couple and cinnamonized a couple…

The kids hated them.
They were bland and too heavy.

Another failed experiment in the kitchen for yours truly.

Categories: Cooking, Family
  1. November 3, 2009 at 3:24 pm

    Sounds like tons of my own attempts in the kitchen!!

    Thanks for your advice on the job offer, by the way. If the church board members decide that they would like to give me the job, I will ask if I can have a week’s trial first before I commit. Good thinking!! My husband doesn’t put that much thought into stuff šŸ™‚

  2. Hendo
    November 3, 2009 at 3:51 pm

    I know my limits in the kitchen and mess up often, but its like a science experiment – fun. And sometimes delicious.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
