Home > Gaming, Windows > Stuck in the past

Stuck in the past

November 4, 2009

I have Windows 7 installed and its REALLY nice. So much faster and better than XP. But my home machine’s main use is for gaming and net surfing. I’ve been slacking on the PC gaming front for the last few years. New games just cost way too much. Marriage and children will make you sensible and thrifty like that.

I have spent the last week installing and updating (taking up most of my 5GB Verizon wireless monthly limit – which stinks) and the last 3 nights installing old DOS games like Wing Commander, Master of Orion, Space Quest (1-5) and my all time favorite Starflight.

Wing Commander MOO Space Quest Starflight

And they all work surprisingly well in Windows 7 with the help of DOS Box.

There really aren’t many new games that appeal to me. I like sci-fi, RPG, Adventure or a mix of all 3. I also enjoy Civ style games.

Anyone have any new game suggestions for a pc game old-timer stuck in the past?

Categories: Gaming, Windows
  1. highpriestbds
    November 4, 2009 at 2:54 pm

    I was thinking the exact same thing last night. “Wow… the best I can do is Mafia Wars??? Come ON!” The newest game I play w/ any frequency is Dawn of War… what? 5 years old? Man.

    You might try Sins of a Solar Empire?

    Or this looks intriguing.
    http://positech.co.uk/gratuitousspacebattles/

    There is always Ur-Quan masters (which doesn’t really scratch the “new” itch, but you know…)

    I am also very interested in Dragon Age: Origins. Maybe check out The Witcher too. What I played of it was good.

  2. Hendo
    November 4, 2009 at 3:05 pm

    I have quit playing Mafia Wars, now I’m into Happy Aquarium.
    I might have another go at Sins, and Dragon age does look promising. Another one that looks good is Dawn of Discovery.

    I would be playing more Empire Total War, but it crashes a lot on Win7.
    UQM is on the download list for next month since I’m close to my 5gb limit. They charge $.25 per MB over the limit – ridiculous.

  3. highpriestbds
    November 4, 2009 at 3:19 pm

    DL it here and take it home on a flash drive.

    We have verizon too. I am not at all happy w/ it. Slow, expensive and that POS cap… bleh.

    I think Armageddon Empires looks cool. I think we are going to have to look at Indie games more for our old school fixes. It seems like they are getting better in quality and hit the niches the big guys no longer do.

    I miss the good ol days of gaming. Or maybe it was having the time and freedom to do it at will. I suspect that’s it more than anything.

    You should get X-Com too. YOu can get it off Steam for $5, I think. Or probably find it for free.

    GOG.com has some interesting stuff as well.

  4. Hendo
    November 4, 2009 at 3:24 pm

    You don’t have much of an alternative in the country. Satellite is 10x worse.

    The DOS version of StarCon2 is working well in DOS Box, no need for UQM really.
    I have X-Com but its not working well in DOS Box.

  5. highpriestbds
    November 4, 2009 at 3:36 pm

    I got it working on ME… but not sure how… I think they released a Windows compatible version at some point. Maybe on a PC Gamer CD???

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
